Each souvenir has a meaning


One day in the afternoon, I went to the Indian Market on 5312 Ave. Petit Thouars in Miraflores, Lima to buy souvenirs for my family.

Indian Market

Indian Market. Photo by Sylvia Obén

While walking through the kiosks I saw gloves, socks, hats, shirts and pants made of Alpaca. I also saw Handicrafts, leather sandals, typical candies of Peru, silver jewelry and/or huayruro (stones that symbolize good luck and attracts fortune). People could also find tequila shot glasses, key chains, wallets, purses, pens and pipes representing Peru. I also could not miss the sale of Peruvian music discs and instruments.

Variety of shops to buy from.

Variety of shops to buy from. Photo by Sylvia Obén

With so many options I ended up buying more for myself than for others. I bought a spider Nazca lines necklace, a silver ring, a pendant of the Andean silver cross (ancient symbol originally from indigenous peoples, where each corner of the cross represents one month), and gloves from the cold hand embroidery.

After I bought everything that I found interesting for myself, I bought a silver bracelet with turquoise stones for my sister, a shirt with embroidered Nazca lines for my dad, and a handmade silver ring for my mom. For my boyfriend, I bought a shirt with the logo of the beer of Cusco, Peru’s most common beer.

Peru change purse.

Peru change purse. Photo by Sylvia Obén

Thus concluded my shopping in the Indian Market, I spent about $60 for everything.

Even while buying souvenirs for people I learned about the Peruvian culture. Each gift or thing that I bought has a meaning. That’s what satisfies me more than to give them something; to be able to explain to them where each garment comes from and its meaning.

Leave a Reply

