DIFFICULTIES OF NOT HAVING A VOLTAGE CONVERTER


During my preparation to go to Peru, my professor, Elio Leturia, commented on the class Facebook page that the voltage in Peru is 220 Volts, unlike in Puerto Rico and the United States where it is 110 Volts.

Voltage Converter, 220 Volts. Photo by Sylvia Obén

Voltage Converter, 220 Volts. Photo by Sylvia Obén

When I found out that using my hair dryer in Peru could damage it, I asked myself: should leave my hair curly or straight there?
I wanted to buy an adapter so I emailed the hotel La Castellana in Miraflores, Lima and they replied me saying that yes, the voltage in the bathrooms was 110 volts. So, I straightened my hair without any problem.
At that time, I just thought about my hair. I never thought to charge my computer, my phone or my camera battery.
It is said that the Apple laptop chargers can be used in Peru even though the voltage is different. The problem was that my computer charger is generic. So, during the two weeks of the trip I had to ask my classmates to borrow their chargers because they had original Apple chargers. During the last days of the trip I was embarrassed to borrow their chargers so I left my laptop charging in the bathroom at night. I didn’t feel like bothering anyone.
When I wanted to charge my phone or my camera battery I always had to know the priorities of things and their uses since I only could plug in two things at once. Not to mention if my roommate also needed to use the outlet.
At the end I regretted not having bought an adapter to use light wherever I go, anywhere, not only in the bathroom.
Leave a Reply

