Sighing with a dessert


During my trip to Peru I attended a cooking class with the intention of writing one of my three articles. Not only did I take pictures and videos, I also learned about the Peruvian cuisine and its history .

Suspiro de limeña. Photo by Sylvia Obén

Suspiro de limeña. Photo by Sylvia Obén

Desserts have always been my weakness and the dessert Lima Sigh of Lima is one of biggest weaknesses. A literal translation of the name is “Limean (from Lima) woman’s Sigh.” Like Limean I sighed, I had not eaten half the cake and it was already sweetened. I can’t deny that this eventually became my favorite place in Peru .
I also learned how to make it. Want to sigh like I did?
Peruvian desserts. Photo by Sylvia Obén

Peruvian desserts. Photo by Sylvia Obén

 INGREDIENTS
1 can of condensed milk
1 can of evaporated milk big
1 cinnamon stick
5 egg yolks
3 egg whites
1 cup White sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
½ cup sweet wine (optional )
PREPARATION
In a saucepan add the milk and cinnamon stick, stir until a thick blancmange is formed.
Off the heat, add 5 egg yolks, and vanilla. serve it in individual cups warm ( halfway) .
Beat egg whites until stiff and add just beat, prepared with sugar syrup and wine, add the teaspoon of cinnamon and complete filling of cups or candy dish with a sleeve or decorate with a spoon.
*Recipe supplied by Chela Tejada, instructor of the cooking class and cook in the Rest. El Rincón de Edu.
Leave a Reply

