REUNITED IN THE LAST PLACE ON EARTH


It’s a small world! From Puerto Rico to the U.S. and from the U.S. to Peru.

As I wrote a status on Facebook to let friends know that I had arrived in Peru little did I know that it would help me to reunite with three of my Latino friends. Coincidentally, one of them came from Panama for the first time. It had been two years since I last saw them all when we graduated from Purdue University in Indiana.

César Reynaga, Ramón Crespo, Diego Casanova & I. (Right to left)

César Reynaga, Ramón Crespo, Diego Casanova & I. (Right to left)

On Sunday, January 5 we had lunch at a restaurant that specializes in Peruvian food. We went to La Preferida  located at 698 Arias Araguez St. in Miraflores. We ordered ceviche, the national dish of Peru consisting of raw fish, causa limeña, potato dish makes a great light meal and lomo saltado, a stir fry that typically combines marinated strips of sirloin, or other beef steak, with onions, tomatoes, and other ingredients, served with fried potato slices and rice, in order to share a little of everything.

It was interesting to try Peruvian drinks, which contain fruits that I had never in my life seen or heard of, such as camu camu which is fruit that a bush that grows in the Amazonian rain forest of Peru.

After lunch we enjoyed the view of the sea and the mountains along de 28 de julio road. Although it was foggy, we were still able to enjoy the scenery.

At night, we reminisced about the parties at Purdue as we dined at Son de Cuba in Salsoteca.

Our Latino roots have never changed and they have kept us together everywhere we go. At Purdue, we became friends and learned about each other’s dialects and cultures, but I never would have thought that I would come to Peru and reconnect with them. It was shocking to get to see people that I had not been in contact with for such a long time.

I definitely believe that even though people think we need to delete friends from Facebook who we don’t talk to anymore, we may never know when we will meet again in a new city or even a new country.

Leave a Reply

